Cook Islands

The Cook Islands comprises 15 islands and is a self-governing parliamentary democracy in the South Pacific Ocean. It is in free association with New Zealand. Those who live on the Cook Islands are citizens of New Zealand but they have the status of Cook Islands nationals.


The Cook Islands are located north-east of New Zealand, between French Polynesia and American Samoa. They are divided into two distinct groups: the Southern Cook Islands and the Northern Cook Islands.

How to get to Cook Islands

In order to be allowed to stay on the Cook Islands you must have a reservation for accommodation pre-arranged. Otherwise, you might be sent back on the next plane out.

Rarotonga International Airport (IATA: RAR) is the main gateway to the Cook Islands and there are daily domestic flights, as well as flights to New Zealand (Auckland, Christchurch), Australia (Sydney), Fiji, Tahiti and the USA (Los Angeles).





The Cook Islands are blessed with tropical weather, moderated by the winds. The average high temperature is between 24C and 28C year round and the average low temperature doesn’t go below 20C. Rain mostly occurs during summer (November to April)

>>read more about Weather in New Zealand

Things to do

Most of the activities here take place in the water or are related to the water. There are excellent diving or snorkeling spots and you also try your luck at fishing. Or you might prefer a cruise or a glass bottom boat tour. Soak up the sun and enjoy swimming in the clear waters. Should you prefer surfing then stay on Rarotonga as that’s where all surfing spots are located.

Those who prefer to stay out of the water, but love adventure can enjoy mountain trekking , hiking or waking tours. Exploring Rarotonga and the areas close to it will show travelers a colorful and exciting culture.

For a romantic experience, walk along the beach at night and be amazed by the numerous stars that are visited (if there are no clouds). Or you can plan to visit another island than the one you stay on.

Photo credit