The Flag of China

The flag of China is a red field with five golden stars in the canton. There’s one large star and four others in a semicircle set off towards the fly. The flag was adopted in September, 1949 and was first flown on October 1, 1949 at the ceremony announcing the founding of the People’s Republic. Today October 1 marks the Independence Day.

The emblem of China contains a representation of the Tiananmen Gate in a red circle. Above, we can find the five golden stars (one bigger and four smaller). The border represents the Maoist philosophy of an agricultural revolution, while the bottom of the emblem contain a cogwheel — standing for the working class — and ears of grain — standing for the peasantry.

Symbolism of the flag

The red represents the blood of those who died during the revolution, while the stars and their position represent the unity of China under the leadership of the Communist Party of China. The gold represents the glorious history and Chinese culture.




In the original interpretation by its designer Zeng Liansong, the big star represents the communism , while the four smaller stars represent the social classes of the people. The five stars represent the territories of China.

Other flags

The only sub-national flags that exist are those of the Hong Kong — which is a stylized, white, five-petal Bauhinia blakeana flower in the centre of a red field – and Macau — which is a light green field with a lotus flower above a stylized bridge and water , beneath an arc of five golden stars.

However, cities and provinces cannot have their own flags. The only exceptions are Hong Kong and Macau which are special administrative regions.

Photo credit

Related Content